9 days post op update

OK well I’m 5 days post op today. Today was good and bad. Ill start with the bad and end with the good.

First thing this morning the surgical residents cam in to see how I’m doing. I told him not great because of the sharp pains to the right of my incisions. This has been happening for a couple of days but it seems to be getting worse. First they said it was gas pains, then they said it was just because I had surgery (I have never had pain like this after surgery), and then they changed their story AGAIN and said it was stitches irritating my insides….

OK for one, how could he know that its stitches without doing any kind of imaging.

And two….last time I had any issues with stitches, I had to have ANOTHER surgery to remove the stitches manually and debride the wound. This left me with a crater in my belly that took months to heal.

But again they refuse to do any imaging, even though there are times where I am sobbing and writhing in pain. They are basically telling me to deal with it. Though the guy this morning was very mean and rude and was yelling and arguing with me until I was in tears. It was awful. He suggested 2 different medication that I have been taking this whole time and don’t help that pain. His answer to that was “well maybe it didn’t work yesterday but maybe it will work today”…….um…are you serious?!?!

and after he brought me to tears he just walked out before I could ask him anything more. Needless to say, if he comes into my room again I will probably ask him to leave.

Now the good news, I actually felt decent today, still battling the sharp side pain..but overall I have felt a little better. I got to take a shower tonight which was soooo amazing! Nothing like a hot shower after days of only using wipes.

That’s all I have for you today. Thank you all for being there for me, it really means the world! I love seeing how many people visit the site and reading comments! THANK YOU!!

hey all, I know its been a few days, I’ve been settling in at my partents house. I still cant believe I am out of the hospital so quick! Only 7 days! Now to most I’m sure that sounds

Also surprised at how good I feel. I’m not in too much pain at all. Pretty much only taking pain medicine once during the day and once or twice during the night. I discovered that I can already sleep on my side! This is amazing fr me as I hate sleeping on my back! I usually cant sleep on my side after surgery for a month or more!

Everything about this surgery has been so much easier than before and I am so happy about it! I am even eating well and not having much nausea at all, which is a huge plus!

I look at my belly several times a day and am so happy with how it looks! Iv’e got my belly back! AND since y surgeon had to go back through the mid line incision, sh was able to fix my thick scar from my last surgery! I can tell its going to heal great! And best of all, I have my belly back!!

I will continue to blog about this whole process and my life with Crohn’s! And if anyone has any questions or needs help with their stoma, please don’t be afraid to ask! Though I no longer have my stoma, I still have the knowledge of having one for a total of over 5 years!

One thought on “9 days post op update

Leave a comment